Why I Serve–Thoughts from Roger Williams Middle School

Patrick Amarante--City Year Corps Member on the Hasbro Team Serving at Roger Williams Middle School

Patrick Amarante–City Year Corps Member on the Hasbro Team Serving at Roger Williams Middle School

As a child I did not aspire for a life of service- indeed, as many other children, I wished to be a professional athlete, or obtain some level of recognition within society similar to a Celebrity. More recently, upon entering college, I decided that I wanted to be a filmmaker; as an 18 year old boy, I had only California in my eyes. Then, I would have never imagined that I would do a program like City Year; in fact it was the antithesis of what I believed I wanted out of life.

I learned of empathy through a wordless suggestion from someone I cared about deeply, but have now lost touch with, and a smile from someone who shouldn’t have been smiling.

I found service through a series of instances and actions bred from the chaos of growing up- but that is not why I serve.

I do not serve because I have given up on my dreams, but because I now realize that my best dreams are the dreams that involve the most good I can do in the world.

This year, the ocean of my dreams has been fed by a river of promise, which draws its water from the potential of others- namely, the students that I see every day.

I serve because I see a sixth grader, who comes from a home so broken that coming to school is a feat in itself, smile when I read the stories he writes.

I serve because he, and many other students I work with, does not have anyone at home to believe in them like I did growing up.

I serve because the inspiration I get from the people I have met energizes me in spite of the sleep I have lost.

Thank you to Patrick Amarante from the Hasbro Team serving at Roger Williams Middle School for contributing this month’s post.

This entry was posted in City Year Rhode Island, Why I Serve. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

